Iowa Agriculture Summit
Saturday, August 5, 2017
Hy-Vee Hall at Iowa Events Center
730 3rd Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50309

**Agenda NOT FINAL. All times approximate. Check back for updates**

Doors Open & Check-in Begins

Welcome from Event Host Bruce Rastetter

Remarks from Governor Kim Reynolds

Remarks from U.S. Senator Charles Grassley

Trade & Manufacturing Panel
Host: Bruce Rastetter
Moderator: Mike McGinnis, Marketing Editor, Successful Farming

Randy Spronk – Past President, National Pork Producers Council
Mark Core – Executive Vice President & Chief Marketing Officer, Vermeer Corporation
Jim Field – President, Agriculture & Turf Division, Deere & Company
Fred Gorrell – Assistant Deputy Minister, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada

2018 Farm Bill Panel
Host: Bruce Rastetter
Moderator: Phil Brasher, Senior Editor, Agri-Pulse Communications, Inc.

Wendy Wintersteen, Endowed Dean, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Iowa State University
Craig Lang, Farmer & Past President, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation
Gary Wertish, President, Minnesota Farmers Union
Craig Uden, President, National Cattleman’s Beef Association

Remarks from U.S. Senator Joni Ernst

Remarks from Secretary Sonny Perdue
Secretary, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Memorandum of Understanding
USDA Mentorship Initiative Signing

Remarks from Craig Hill, President, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation

Lunch Break – Boxed lunch will be served

Remarks from Parliamentary Secretary Jean-Claude Poissant & Head of Mission, Consul General Khawar Nasim, Canada


Conservation, Sustainability & Water Quality Panel
Host: Bruce Rastetter
Moderator: Gary Baise, Principal Attorney, OFW Law

Secretary Jim Reese, Department of Agriculture, Food & Forestry, State of Oklahoma
Dr. Richard Cruse, Director of the Iowa Water Center and Agronomy Professor, Iowa State University
Matt Carstens – Senior Vice President, SUSTAIN, Land O’Lakes, Inc.
Ann Robinson, Ag Policy Director, Iowa Environmental Council
Marian Singer, co-founder & CEO of Wellntel

Renewable Energy Panel
Host: Bruce Rastetter
Moderator: Mike McGinnis

Dave VanderGriend, CEO, ICM, Inc.
Doug Berven, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, POET, Inc.
Brooke Coleman, Executive Director, Advanced Biofuels Business Council

The Next Generation of Farmers & Ranchers – Challenges and Opportunities
Moderator: Neil Hamilton, Director of the Agriculture Law Center, Dwight D. Opperman Chair of Law, Professor of Law, Drake University

Chris Beyerhelm, Acting Administrator, USDA Farm Service Agency
Steve Records, SCORE Chief Operating Office
Madeline Shultz, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Woman in Agriculture Program Manager, Iowa State University
Michael Hein, Vice President & Sr. Loan Officer, Liberty Trust and Savings Bank
Tim Couser, Couser Cattle Company, Iowa